Skip Navigation
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina Show Links

Local Law Enforcement Agencies

Bennettsville Police Department
Kevin J. Miller, Chief
243 East Main Street
Non Emergency:  (843) 479-3620
Emergency:  911


Marlboro County Sheriff's Department
Charles Lemon, Sheriff
Throop Street
Bennettsville, SC 29512
Non Emergency:  (843) 479-5605
Emergency:  911


Clio Police Department
Kevin Treadaway, Chief
110 North Main Street
(843) 586-2211
Emergency:  911
McColl Police Department
______, Chief
210 East Gibson Avenue
McColl, SC 29570
(843) 523-5223
Emergency:  911 


                                       The Honorable Mia David Weaver, Chief Magistrate 
                                       The Honorable Grover McQueen
                                       The Honorable Robert Stanton


Justice Complex - Throop Street

The Magistrate Court of Marlboro County is apprised of four Magistrates and is housed in the Justice Complex on Throop Street beside the Detention Center.  Magistrates have criminal jurisdiction over all offenses which are subject to penalty of a fine not exceeding $500.00 or imprisonment not exceeding 30 days, or both.  Magistrates may hear cases transferred from general sessions, the penalty for which does not exceed one year imprisonment or a fine of $5,000, or both, upon petition by the solicitor and agreement by the defendant.  Generally , magistrates have civil jurisdiction when the amount in controversy does not exceed $7,500.  In addition, Magistrates are responsible for setting bail, conducting preliminary hearings, and issuing arrest and search warrants.  Unlike circuit courts and probate courts, Magistrate Courts are not courts of record.  Proceedings in Magistrate Courts are summary.  The four Magistrates for Marlboro County are:  Chief Magistrate Mia David Weaver, Magistrate Grover McQueen, and Magistrate Rob Stanton.